Canada wins the bronze medal in women’s relay at world junior short track speed skating championships

Ivanie Blondin of Ottawa, Valerie Maltais of Saguenay, Que., and Valerie Lambert of Sherbrooke, Que., combined forces to win the bronze medal for Canada in the women’s 2,000-metre relay on Sunday to conclude the world junior short track speed skating championships.

South Korea won the gold medal in two minutes and 54.378 seconds with China second in 2:55.00 and the Canadians in third in 2:55.460 for its sole medal of the competition.

Canada was also in the men’s relay final but was disqualified in the race along with France. South Korea took the gold in 2:49.966 and the U.S., won silver in 2:56.564. The Canadian skaters were Nicholas Bean of Ottawa, Maxime Fortin of Riviere-du-Loup, Que., and Vincent Andre of Ahuntsic, Que.

In the women’s 1,000, Shin-Young Yang led South Korea to a 1-2 finish clocking 1:32.394 with Seung-Hi Park second at 1:32.507 and Nannan Zhao of China third at 1:33.063.

Maltais and Lambert reached the semifinals and were seventh and ninth overall respectively. Blondin was 10th.

In the men’s 1,000, South Korea was 1-2 again with Woo-Chul Shin first in 1:26.922, Won-Hoon Jang second in 1:27.213 and Ming Gao of China third in 1:28.981. Bean was eliminated in the semis for sixth, Andre was ninth and Fortin 16th.

The Koreans swept the top-three overall for the men and women. For the men it was in order Shin first, Jung-Su Lee second and Jang third. For the women it was Yang, Sae-Bom Shin and Park.