Canada’s Best Long Track Skaters Ready to Compete on Home Ice in Calgary

Six Albertans to skate in front of family and friends during ISU World Cup at the Olympic Oval

CALGARY, ALBERTA – In just two short weeks, 27 Canadian long track skaters will be in action on home ice at the ISU World Cup Speed Skating in Calgary. The racing will take place at the Olympic Oval from February 7-8.

Calgary will welcome more than 200 athletes from over 20 countries, as the fastest skaters in the world fight for the 500, 1000, 1500, 3000 and 5000 meter titles. To date this season, Canada has claimed nine World Cup medals in the distances that will be contested.

The Canadian team for the competition will feature 13 Olympians, along with six skaters who will be making their World Cup debut.

Leading the charge are Ivanie Blondin (Ottawa, Ont.), winner of seven individual distance medals so far this season, and Isabelle Weidemann (Ottawa, Ont.), a triple medalist herself. They’ll be joined by Graeme Fish (Moose Jaw, Sask.), Alex Boisvert-Lacroix (Sherbrooke, Que.) and Laurent Dubreuil (Lévis, Que.), all of whom have reached the podium this season as well.

It’ll be a memorable weekend for six skaters in particular – Lindsey Kent (Winnipeg, Man.), Abigail McCluskey (Penticton, B.C.), Brooklyn McDougall (Calgary, Alta.), Maddison Pearman (Ponoka, Alta.), Hayden Mayeur (Toronto, Ont.) and Kaleb Muller (Cranford, Alta.) – as they will make their much anticipated World Cup debut.

Meanwhile, Calgary natives Kaylin Irvine, Brooklyn McDougall and Gilmore Junio, along with fellow Albertans Muller (Cranford, Alta.), Pearman (Ponoka, Alta.) and Connor Howe (Canmore, Atla.), will all get the opportunity to compete on the biggest stage in front of family and friends.

The complete list of skaters that will participate at the ISU World Cup in Calgary can be found below:

  • Ivanie Blondin (Ottawa, Ont.)
  • Noémie Fiset (Quebec City, Que.)
  • Marsha Hudey (White City, Sask.)
  • Kaylin Irvine (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Lindsey Kent (Winnipeg, Man.)
  • Béatrice Lamarche (Quebec City, Que.)
  • Valérie Maltais (La Baie, Que.)
  • Abigail McCluskey (Penticton, B.C.)
  • Brooklyn McDougall (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Heather McLean (Winnipeg, Man.)
  • Maddison Pearman (Ponoka, Alta.)
  • Isabelle Weidemann (Ottawa, Ont.) 
  • Jordan Belchos (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Ted-Jan Bloemen (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Alex Boisvert-Lacroix (Sherbrooke, Que.)
  • Laurent Dubreuil (Lévis, Que.)
  • Graeme Fish (Moose Jaw, Sask.)
  • Antoine Gélinas-Beaulieu (Sherbrooke, Que.)
  • Jacob Graham (Dawson Creek, B.C.)
  • Connor Howe (Canmore, Alta.)
  • Gilmore Junio (Calgary, Alta.)
  • Tyson Langelaar (Winnipeg, Man.)
  • David La Rue (Saint-Lambert, Que.)
  • Hayden Mayeur (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Kaleb Muller (Cranford, Alta.)
  • Jess Neufeld (Winnipeg, Man.)
  • Alexandre St-Jean (Quebec City, Que.)

CBC Sports will have live streaming coverage of both competition days, as well as televised coverage from 12:00 to 13:00 EST on Saturday as part of their ‘Road to the Olympic Games’ program. Check your local listings for more information.

Visit for more information or to purchase your tickets.