Hamelin & Overland win national titles at Canada Post Open championships

Charles Hamelin of Ste-Julie, Que., and Amanda Overland of Cambridge, Ont., were crowned the men’s and women’s national overall champions Sunday at the Canada Post Open Championships short track speed skating competition.

Both skaters also headline the Canadian team selections for the world championships in March.

The 20-year-old Hamelin won three of four races this weekend including the 3,000 on Sunday to compile 3,816 points for his first national senior overall title. Francois-Louis Tremblay of Boucherville, Que., the 1,000 winner on Sunday, was second at 3,025 and Mathieu Turcotte of Sherbrooke, Que., third at 2,335.

"This is a dream weekend for me," said Hamelin, 20, as he continued a breakthrough season that includes a World Cup win in December and two Canadian records in November. "I just felt great on the ice and to finish it with my first career win in a 3,000 is icing on the cake."

On the women’s side, Overland won both the 1,000 and 3,000 metres on Sunday to surge to first place overall with 2,657 points for her first national overall crown. Kalyna Roberge of Ste-Etienne-de-Lauzon, Que., the 500 winner on Saturday, was second at 2,621 and Chantale Sévigny of Sherbrooke, Que., took third at 2,591.

"I raced smart and aggressive today," said Overland. "I didn’t have a good start to this competition but I regrouped and I told myself that I could do it. I put a lot of work into it this year and I wasn’t going to let it end in disappointment."

The Canadian line-ups for the world team championships March 5-6 in Chuncheon, South Korea and the world championships March 11-13 in Beijing were provisionally announced. The selections were based on performances at the national team trials in November (which counted for 33 percent) and this weekend’s competition.

For the men it is Hamelin, Tremblay, Turcotte, Steve Robillard of Montreal, Éric Bédard of Ste-Thecle, Que., and Jonathan Guilmette of Montreal. For the women, Overland, Alanna Kraus of Abbotsford, B.C., Roberge, Sévigny, Anouk Leblanc-Boucher of Montreal and Annik Plamondon of Montreal.

The team will also compete at the last two World Cups next month in Europe.