Kerry Simpson named 2005 Sask Sport Inc. female athlete-of-the-year award

The recipients of the Sask Sport Inc. 2005 Athlete of the Year and Volunteer Recognition Awards were announced tonight at the Saskatchewan Sports Awards dinner in Regina.

There were 41 nominations for the Athlete of the Year awards and the list was narrowed to three finalists in each of the six categories. The award recipients in each category were chosen in a vote by the Presidents of Provincial Sport Governing Bodies and Saskatchewan's sports media. The results were compiled and audited by the accounting and auditing firm of The Virtus Group. The award recipients are:

Female Athlete of the Year:

Kerry Simpson, Melville, Saskatchewan Amateur Speed Skating Association

Male Athlete of the Year:

Graham DeLaet, Weyburn, Saskatchewan Golf Association

Master Athlete of the Year:

Bev Anderson, Regina, Saskatchewan Canoe Association

Youth Male Athlete of the Year:

Cory Rublee, Regina, Saskatchewan Canoe Association

Youth Female Athlete of the Year:

Whitney Vanderleest, Regina, Saskatchewan Canoe Association

Team of the Year:

Kyle George Junior Men's Curling Team, Saskatchewan Curling Association

The Saskatchewan Sport Awards also featured the Volunteer Recognition Awards, which were presented to:

Anne Doig, Saskatoon, Swim Saskatchewan

Myron Mehler, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Volleyball Association

Terry Mountjoy, Regina, Saskatchewan Athletics

"The Saskatchewan Sport Awards are a tremendous opportunity to salute our best amateur athletes and volunteers. All of the athlete finalists and volunteers are to be commended for their outstanding achievements. These awards showcase how successful our athletes are at all levels of competition, and the important role that volunteers play in that success," said George Rathwell, the Volunteer President of Sask Sport Inc.

The evening also featured a presentation by five-time Olympian Diane Jones Konihowski, who has claimed more than 70 national championship titles in pentathlon, high jump and long jump. After retiring from active competition in 1984, she served as a Vice President with the National Sport Centre in Calgary and is currently the president of Premiere Executive Suites. Konihowski also serves on numerous boards and committees, including a director with the Canadian Olympic Committee and KidSport™ Saskatchewan.

The Saskatchewan Sports Awards are sponsored by Global TV, McMaster Photographers, Saskatchewan Lotteries, and the Canadian Sport Centre Saskatchewan.