National short track team’s selections #2 coming to Calgary this weekend

National short track team’s selections #2 coming to Calgary this weekend
Competition key to identifying 2012-13 teams

– The Olympic Oval in Calgary will play host to the national short track team selections #2 from Friday, March 9 to Sunday, March 11. This competition, along with the Canadian Open Championships in January, will be used to rank the 24 men and women for the 2012-13 national and development teams.

For the purposes of determining a final overall Canadian ranking, the original athletes selected to compete in this weekend’s 2012 World Championships in China will be ranked one to five in order of their selection.

The selections begin Friday with the 1,500 metres, followed by the 500 metres on Saturday and 1,000 and Super 3,000 metres on Sunday. The relay will also take place on Sunday.

The men’s group highlights three national team members and four from the development team. Jessica Hewitt is the lone national women’s team skater and is joined by five from the development squad. Four men and four women competed in at least one of the six World Cups this season. Also competing are seven national junior team skaters, who recently took part in the World Junior Championship in Australia.

* - 2011-12 national team; # - 2011-12 development team; ^ - 2012 national junior team

Men (province; rank for selections #2):
*Rémi Beaulieu (Quebec; 1st), Dave Belval (Quebec; 10th), *Guillaume Blais-Dufour (Quebec; 3rd), #Gabriel Chiasson-Poirier (Quebec; 7th), Mikhail Choi (Quebec; 12th), Julien Collin-Demers (Ontario; 24th), #Vincent Cournoyer (Quebec; 6th), Patrick Duffy (Ontario; 2nd), Vincent Egesborg (Quebec; 23rd), Sasha Fathoullin (Alberta; 20th), Allyn Gagnon (Quebec; 8th), #Pier-Olivier Gagnon (Quebec; 4th), Maxime Gauthier (Quebec; 19th), ^Yoan Gauthier (Quebec; 18th), ^David Goulet (Quebec; 17th), *François Hamelin (Quebec; 5th), Benoit Larivière Lord (Quebec; 16th), Mathieu Larivière-Lord (Quebec; 11th), ^Jean-Christophe Marando (Quebec; 15th), Jacob McKenzie (Ontario; 9th), Jonathan Perez-Audy (Quebec; 22nd), Mathieu Robitaille (Quebec; 13th), #^Alexandre St. Jean (Quebec; 14th), and Rob Watson (Ontario; 21st).

Women (province; rank for selections #2):
Elizabeth Albert (Quebec; 12th), #Vanessa Bélanger-Marceau (Quebec; 4th), #Sabrina Bourgela (Quebec; 1st), Kim Boutin (Quebec; 19th), #Kasandra Bradette (Quebec; 3rd), Camille DeSerres-Rainville (Quebec; 21st), #Andrea Do-Duc (Quebec; 6th), Joannie Gervais (Quebec; 17th), Namasthée Harris-Gauthier (Quebec; 7th), *Jessica Hewitt (Quebec; 2nd), Jesse Keca (B.C.; 15th), Vicky Labourdette (Quebec; 13th), Marie-Claude Lemieux (Quebec; 22nd), Jamie MacDonald (B.C.; 18th), Michelle Mackay (B.C.; 23rd), #Ann-Véronique Michaud (Quebec; 10th), Keri Morrison (Ontario; 5th), Ana Pacanins (Alberta; 11th), ^Audrey Phaneuf (Quebec; 16th), Gillian Richmond (Alberta; 9th), Jessica Santos-Bouffard (Quebec; 14th), ^Courtney Shmyr (B.C.; 24th), ^Léa Thibault (Quebec; 8th), and Amélie Tremblay (Quebec; 20th).