Nominations Being Accepted for Speed Skating Canada’s Annual Awards Program

Members of the Canadian speed skating community have until April 22, 2019 to submit their nominations for the 2019 Speed Skating Canada Awards Program

The awards that make up this program are presented annually to recognize significant contributions and achievements by some of our sport’s most dedicated stakeholders̶from athletes and coaches, to officials, volunteers and partners.


In keeping with our new Strategic Plan, which strives for sport and organizational excellence, the annual SSC Awards Program has been recalibrated in 2019 with the aim of ensuring that all stakeholders are represented; ensuring that recognition is distributed equitably among stakeholder groups; increasing the diversity and breadth of the nominees; and streamlining the nomination and selection process.

Nominations are being accepted for over a dozen different awards this year, including the Speed Skating Canada Hall of Fame and a pair of newly created awards:

  • The Sport Champion Award recognizes the valuable contributions of our partners and will be bestowed upon a sponsor, supporter or partner who has demonstrated sustained commitment to advancing the sport of speed skating in Canada at the club, regional, provincial or national level.
  • The Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award replaces the Intact Insurance Podium Tracker grant application process. Funds previously dedicated to the Podium Tracker grants will now be distributed via this award, which has similar criteria and prizing to the previous program.

The eligibility criteria and nomination process for some of our awards has changed, so please read through the 2019 SSC Awards Program Information Package below carefully to familiarize yourself with the new requirements.

The deadline to submit a nomination is Monday, April 22. All awards will be presented at the 2019 Awards Gala, which will be held on the evening of Saturday, June 8 in Winnipeg as part of the SSC AGM and Congress.

If you have any questions about the Awards Program, please contact Alain Brouillette (