Second day of the fall World Cups short track selections

Second day of the fall World Cups short track selections in Calgary
Maltais and Hamelin win 1,500 metres again, Truchon and Jean win 1,000-metre races

CALGARY – It was the second day of competition at the Olympic Oval in Calgary as the top 16 male and 16 female skaters competed in the 1,000- and 1,500-metre distances at Speed Skating Canada’s fall World Cups short track selections. In the second 1,500-metre race of the competition, Valérie Maltais of La Baie, Que., and Charles Hamelin of Sainte-Julie, Que., were again the top skaters. Caroline Truchon of Chicoutimi, Que., won the first of two women’s 1,000 metres and Olivier Jean of Lachenaie, Que., was first for the men. (Photo right: Caroline Truchon: Photo by Dave Holland)

Maltais took the 1,500-metre title again, winning in a time of two minutes and 25.762 seconds. Gabrielle Waddell of Red Deer, Alta., took second place, while Marianne St. Gelais of St. Félicien, Que., was in third spot. In the men’s final, Charles Hamelin crossed the finish line first in a time of 2 minutes and 13.055 seconds. Michael Gilday of Yellowknife was second and Francois Hamelin of Sainte-Julie, Que., took third place.

In the women’s 1,000-metre final, officials stopped the nine-lap race with only two laps remaining. St. Gelais fell coming around a corner and took out Maltais in the process. St. Gelais could not return to repeated final because of injury and Maltais was not allowed to return. The official stopped the race because of Maltais and ISU rules state that a skater cannot return if the race is repeated. Both Maltais and St. Gelais were given fourth place finishes.

In the second race for the women’s 1,000-metre title, Truchon won in a time of one minute and 39.375 seconds. She beat Jessica Hewitt of B.C., who took second place, and Alberta’s Jessica Gregg in third.

The men’s 1,000-metre final was a battle between Jean and Charles Hamelin. Jean held off Hamelin’s charge in the end to win in a time of one minute and 21.815 seconds. Alberta’s Liam McFarlane took third place. (Photo left: Olivier Jean (22), Charles Hamelin (21): photo by Dave Holland)

Sunday schedule will showcase the second 500-metre, second 1,000-metre and relay races. The competition starts at 10 a.m. on Sunday. Follow the results on SSC’s Twitter account,

The selections event is used to identify the teams for the first four Samsung ISU World Cups of 2012-13. The first Samsung ISU World Cup Short Track event sees the short track team return to Calgary for international competition, starting Friday, Oct. 19 through to Sunday, Oct. 21. The circuit continues the following weekend with World Cup 2 in Montreal, from Friday, Oct. 26 to Sunday, Oct. 28.

Results from today’s races (complete results here):

A final 1000 m men: 1st Olivier Jean (Quebec), 2nd Charles Hamelin (Quebec), 3rd Liam McFarlane (Quebec), 4th Vincent Cournoyer (Quebec), 5th Patrick Duffy (Quebec).
B final 1000 m men: 1st François Hamelin (Quebec), 2nd François-Louis Tremblay (Quebec), 3rd Rémi Beaulieu (Quebec).
C final 1000 m men: 1st Alexandre St. Jean (Quebec), 2nd Guillaume Bastille (Quebec), 3rd Guillaume Blais-Dufour (Quebec), 4th Michael Gilday (Yellowknife) (fall).
D final 1000 m men: 1st Charle Cournoyer (Quebec), 2nd Pier-Olivier Gagnon (Quebec), 3rd Yoan Gauthier (Quebec), 4th Jacob McKenzie (Ontario).

A final 1000 m women: 1st Caroline Truchon (Quebec), 2nd Jessica Hewitt (Quebec), 3rd Jessica Gregg (Alberta), 4th Marianne St. Gelais (Quebec) (injured in fall), 4th Valérie Maltais (Quebec) (not allowed to return).
B final 1000 m women: 1st Gabrielle Waddell (Alberta), 2nd Kasandra Bradette (Quebec), 3rd Andrea Do-Duc (Quebec).
C final 1000 m women: 1st Valérie Lambert (Quebec), 2nd Audrey Phaneuf (Quebec), 3rd Léa Thibault (Quebec), 4th Keri Morrison (Ontario), 5th Vanessa Bélanger-Marceau (Quebec) (DNS)
D final 1000 m women: 1st Courtney Shmyr (B.C.), 2nd Vicky Labourdette (Quebec)

A final 1500 m men: 1st C. Hamelin, 2nd Gilday, 3rd F. Hamelin, 4th Jean, 5th Bastille, 6th Beaulieu.
B final 1500 m men: 1st Blais-Dufour, 2nd Tremblay, 3rd St. Jean, 4th V. Cournoyer, 5th Gagnon, 6th McFarlane
C final 1500 m men: 1st C. Cournoyer, 2nd Duffy, 3rd McKenzie, 4th Gauthier

A final 1500 m women: 1st Maltais, 2nd Waddell, 3rd St. Gelais, 4th Truchon, 5th Do-Duc (fall), 6th Hewitt (fall)
B final 1500 m women: 1st Gregg, 2nd Bradette, 3rd Thibault, 4th Lambert, 5th Labourdette, 6th Phaneuf
C final 1500 m women: 1st Morrison, 2nd Shmyr