Sherbrooke to Host the Best International Junior Speed Skaters in 2009

Speed Skating Canada (SSC) is delighted to announce that the International Skating Union (ISU) has selected Sherbrooke, Quebec, to play host to the 2009 ISU World Junior Short Track Speed Skating Championships (WJSTSSC).

Sherbrooke presented a bid to host the event last spring, and it was selected Monday among other international cities from ISU member countries. The event is scheduled to be held from January 9th to 11th, 2009, at the Centre Récréatif Eugène-Lalonde, and a local speed skating legend and two-times Olympic medallist, Sylvie Daigle, will be the Honourary Chair of the event.

“We are thrilled to be awarded an event of such magnitude,” declared Denis Paradis, President of the Organizing Committee. “This will definitely help us garner the interest of more young speed skaters and help the development of the sport in Sherbrooke.”

The Centre Récréatif Eugène-Lalonde will soon inaugurate a new international size ice surface, which is key to hosting events such as the WJSTSSC.

“Over the years, Sherbrooke has proved to the world that it was capable of hosting high quality international sporting events, and we are confident that it will once again impress everyone in 2009”, said Jean R. Dupré, Director General of Speed Skating Canada.

Ever since Short Track Speed Skating made its first appearance at the Olympic Games, the City of Sherbrooke has been represented on the Canadian Team by at least one skater. The Sherbrooke Speed Skating Club is the largest one in Canada, with over 400 members. Among its famous skaters are Sylvie Daigle, Maryse and Annie Perreault, Chantale Sévigny and Mathieu Turcotte.

The last time Canada hosted the World Junior Short Track Speed Skating Championships was in 1999, when Montreal welcomed the best junior speed skaters in the world.