Speed Skating Canada Director General Re-Elected on the Canadian Olympic Committee Board of Directors

The Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) held its quadrennial elections this weekend in Vancouver, and Jean R. Dupré, Director General of Speed Skating Canada (SSC) was re-elected with a large majority to serve a second mandate as a non-officer member of the COC Board of Directors.

Dupré was first elected as a COC Vice-President in 2005. He was the first full-time employee of a National Sport Organization (NSO) to be elected to the Executive Committee of the COC. Over his four-year mandate, he led the Governance Review Committee, which presented to the members a new governance structure for the COC which was adopted in April 2008 and implemented this weekend.

This new structure includes a conflict of interest policy forbidding permanent staff of NSOs to be elected as President or Vice-Presidents of the COC. Dupré was still recommended by the Nominations Committee for one of the 8 Director positions within the new Board of Directors. He was elected with 81% of the votes, enough to give him a four-year mandate on the Board of Directors.

Jean R. Dupré has been Director General of SSC since 1996, and a member of the COC Board of Director for the past 20 years. Over this time, he has helped position SSC as one of the most successful NSO in Canada.