Speed Skating Canada had seven finalists & five winners at the Soirée des Lauréats montréalais 2007

At the Soirée des Lauréats montréalais 2007, Speed Skating Canada (SSC) was well represented with finalists in seven categories, and these finalists brought home awards in five of those categories.

Coming off an amazing season, Charles Hamelin captured the Excellence Athlete of the Year / Prix Molson. The current 500m World Champion, Hamelin finished second overall at the 2007 World Short Track Championships, first at the World Team Championships, and was Canada’s first ranked skater last season.
After a very successful 06-07 season, Charles Hamelin, Olivier Jean, Jean-François Monette, Marc-André Monette and François-Louis Tremblay won in the Partners / Prix Fondation Bernard Trottier category beating out nominees from synchronized swimming and diving. During last season, the team they formed had great success in World Cup Relays and together, they won the World Team Championships.
In the Up and Coming Athlete of the Year category, speed skating representative Philippe Riopel won the award, beating out nominees from track and field, diving, and synchronized swimming. During the 2006-07 season, Philippe consistently finished in the top five of his races and he won his first individual international medal at the 2007 World Junior Championships. To celebrate his successes, he was named Speed Skating Canada’s Rising Star at the 2007 Awards Banquet last June.

In the Coaches / Prix Ville de Montréal category, Speed Skating representatives

Derrick Campbell and Martin Gagné took the honour. The two short track speed skating national team coaches beat out nominees from swimming and judo. Campbell is a former member of the Canadian National Team and Gagné was named Speed Skating Canada’s male coach of the year in 2005. Campbell is the male national team coach, and he helped Charles Hamelin and François-Louis Tremblay to 1st and 2nd places in the 500m at the World Championships, where Hamelin was crowned vice-world champion and the men’s relay team also captured silver. Martin Gagné coaches the female national short track team, including Canada’s the current 500m World Champion Kalyna Roberge.

Jacques Grégoire received the Officials / Prix Info-Sports award, beating out finalists from swimming and judo. He is a level 5 referee and has been involved at the highest level with speed skating in Canada for numerous years now. He is currently the Chair of SSC’s Officials Committee.

The Montreal Regional Speed Skating Association was also finalist, in the category of Regional Association / Prix Loisirs sportifs Côte-des-Neiges, and Sébastien Landry was among four finalists in the Québec Winter Games Athlete / Prix Complexe Claude-Robillard category.