SSC to hold its 125th annual general meeting in Montreal

Speed Skating Canada to hold its 125th annual general meeting in Montreal
Meetings, presentation of awards and announcement of host for 2014 World Short Track Championships

– Speed Skating Canada, and its membership from across the country, will meet in Montreal this week for its 125th anniversary celebrations and annual general meeting. More than 80 delegates from Yellowknife to Newfoundland will join national short and long track team athletes for planning meetings, a discussion panel and presentation of annual awards.

The four-day event, at Montreal’s Delta Centre-Ville Hotel, begins Wednesday, June 27, with a board meeting and sessions on the long-term participant and athlete development program (LTPAD) and the president’s welcome reception in the evening. At her reception, SSC president Marie-Claire Rouleau will recognize volunteers with the presentation of four awards: the Jean R. Dupré Award and certificate of merit for outstanding service as an administration; the officials of excellence awards; and, the coaches of the excellence awards. Rouleau will also recognize outgoing committee and board members.

Friday’s activities include the annual general meeting itself from 9 a.m. until noon and the awards and 125th celebrations gala from 7 p.m. to 10 p.m.

The gala, featuring the well-respected speed skating event announcer Dany Lemay as emcee, will be highlighted by the presentation of the following awards: the Jeremy Wotherspoon Award to the long track male skater of the year; the Catriona Le May Doan Award to the long track female skater of the year; the long track rising star; the Marc Gagnon Award to the short track male skater of the year; the short track female skater of the year; the Guy Daignault Award to the short track rising star; the Gagné Family Award; the René Marleau Official of the Year; the Coach of Year; and, the four Peter Williamson Trust Fund bursaries.

National teams participation: Long track team members Christine Nesbitt, Denny Morrison, Laurent Dubreuil and Muncef Ouardi will attend the awards gala on Friday evening. They will be joined by the national and development short track teams, which have just returned from a two-week training camp in Hungary. National long track team coach, Gregor Jelonek, will also attend, as will national short track team coaches Derrick Campbell, Frédéric Blackburn, Laurent Dubreuil and Jeff Scholten.

2014 ISU World Short Track Championships: SSC will announce on Friday which of the four interested cities will host the championships: Saguenay, Quebec City, Montreal or Calgary. Since the first world senior championships in 1976, Canada has played host four times: Quebec City (1979), Moncton (1982) and Montreal (1987 and 2002). The 2013 World Short Track Championships will be held in Debrecen, Hungary, from March 8-10.