Successful Canadian Open Masters Championship in Fort St. John, B.C.

Successful Canadian Open Masters Championship in Fort St. John, B.C.

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – Thirty five (35) skaters participated in Canadian Open Masters Championships at the 400-metre indoor oval in the Pomeroy Sport Centre in Fort St. John, B.C. this past weekend. The Fort St. John Elks Speed Skating Club hosted the championship on behalf of B.C. Speed Skating and Speed Skating Canada.

Skaters vied for titles in the masters category for the all-round title, while five competed in the exhibition 20 to 29-plus years of age class. The category champions were as follows:

Women, 30-34: Michelle Pepin, Burnaby, B.C.

Women: 35-39: Sue Steckle, Sherwood Park, Alta.

Women, 40-44: Leela Braun, Winnipeg

Women, 50-54: Sandy Ramer, Brantford, Ont.

Women, 60-64: Ann Douglas, Fort Fraser, B.C.

Men, 35-39: Andy Wong, Vancouver

Men, 40-44: Rejean Lavoie, Edmonton

Men, 45-49: Rick Lee, Fort St. John, B.C.

Men, 50-54: John Pillar, Ottawa

Men, 55-59: Lyle Dickieson, Prince George, B.C.

Men, 60-64: Brett Arnason, Winnipeg

Men, 70-74: Werner Meyer, Calgary

Men, 75-79: Peter Blokker, Vernon, B.C.

Men, 80-84: Roy Whitney, Calgary

In addition to the championships, there were also 100-metre sprints, qualifiers and finals, as well as team pursuits and marathon races as exhibition events.

The Pomeroy Sport Centre will also be the venue for the upcoming Canadian Age Class Long Track Championships on Feb. 11 and 12.