Winterfest short track meet wraps up at Oval

The 2005 Winterfest Short Track Speed Skating Competition wrapped up today at the Olympic Oval with some exciting and strategic races.

Cory Rasmussen of British Columbia took first in the men’s 1000 metre with a time of 1:32.072 seconds. American racer Alex Izykowski and Ontario’s Richard Shoebridge placed second and third.

Izykowski played a brilliant strategy in the men’s 3000m heats and commanded first place with a five minute time. Following a full second after were British Columbian powerhouses Rasmussen and Michael Friesen.

In the ladies 1000 metre, Edmonton’s Jessica Gregg squeaked in a close victory in 1:37:448 seconds just a nose faster than American Cherise Wilkins with a time of 1:37:935. Crystal Phillips of Alberta finished third.

Carly Wilson (USA) took first place in the ladies 3000m heats with a time of 5:49:274 followed closely by Phillips and Sarah Lang of the United States.

The fastest time of the day goes to JP Kepka of the United States who raced the 1000 metre in 1:30.7 seconds.

Catch more speed skating action as the Olympic Oval hosts the ING World Championship Marathon on February 22. Free admission.

For more information, contact:

Yvonne Turgeon

Olympic Oval Communications

(403) 210-8568