Job Posting: Coordinator, High Performance and Competitions (East)

Speed Skating Canada (SSC), the national governing body for the sport of speed skating in Canada, is looking for an inspired individual for the position of Coordinator, High Performance and Competitions ‐ East.

Dozens Honoured at Speed Skating Canada’s 2019 Awards Banquet

Three new awards presented on Saturday including the Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award 

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA – On Saturday evening, Speed Skating Canada honoured over 20 of the sport’s dedicated stakeholders – including athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers and partners – during its 2019 Awards Banquet, which was held in conjunction with the organization’s Annual General Meeting and Congress in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Winnipeg’s Pat Leech, Williamson Derraugh Family Honoured at Speed Skating Canada Awards Banquet

Leech (née Durnin) represented Canada at the 1980 Olympics and has been involved with Westman Speed Skating Club and Team Manitoba for over three decades

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA –  Olympian Pat Leech (née Durnin) was inducted into Speed Skating Canada’s Hall of Fame as a builder, while the Williamson Derraugh Family were presented with the Gagné Family Award, which honours the family legacies that run through the Canadian speed skating community.

Finalists Named for 2019 Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award

Five speed skating clubs in contention for $10,000 grand prize to help grow the sport locally 

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Speed Skating Canada today revealed the five finalists in contention for this year’s Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award, a new annual award that provides funding to speed skating clubs undertaking initiatives that will help grow the sport in their communities.

Langelaar and Heeney Named Canada Games Council's 2019 Roland Michener Award Winners

Langelaar and Heeney bring home award and bursary for exemplifying leadership, cooperation and excellence during 2019 Canada Winter Games in Red Deer

OTTAWA, ON – The Canada Games Council (CGC) has announced that Team Manitoba long track skater Tyson Langelaar and Team Ontario short track skater Claudia Heeney have been named the two recipients of the 2019 Canada Winter Games Roland Michener Award.

Olympians Samuel Girard and Kasandra Bradette Announce Retirement from Short Track Speed Skating

Girard won 1000m gold and 5000m relay bronze at 2018 Olympic Games in PyeongChang

SAGUENAY, QUEBEC – Canadian Olympic short track speed skaters Samuel Girard and Kasandra Bradette officially announced their retirement from competitive skating this afternoon.

ISU Development Commission Support for Transition from Skater to Coach, Official or Administrator

The ISU Development Commission announces the continuation in 2019 of the initiative to support skaters of all disciplines who have retired within the last 4 seasons and who wish to establish themselves as coaches, officials, administrators or any other appropriate function connected to skating.

Job Posting: Intern, Administrative Support

Speed Skating Canada, the national governing body for the sport of speed skating in Canada, is looking to fill the summer student position of Intern, Administrative Support.

Nominations Being Accepted for Speed Skating Canada’s Annual Awards Program

Members of the Canadian speed skating community have until April 22, 2019 to submit their nominations for the 2019 Speed Skating Canada Awards Program

The awards that make up this program are presented annually to recognize significant contributions and achievements by some of our sport’s most dedicated stakeholders̶from athletes and coaches, to officials, volunteers and partners.

Call for Nominations: SSC Board of Directors

The Speed Skating Canada (SSC) 2019 Nominations Committee invites members to submit nominations for positions on the SSC Board of Directors. Elected members will have the opportunity to positively impact the Canadian speed skating community and the future of our sport across the country.

The following positions are available.