SSC + Fast and Female: Virtual Power Hour

Isabelle Weidemann, Valérie Maltais, Courtney Sarault and Alexa Scott Among Participating National Team Skaters 

OTTAWA, ONTARIO - Speed Skating Canada is partnering with Fast and Female to host two FREE virtual Power Hour events, which will give girls aged 8-12 the opportunity to develop leadership skills, get active, and speak to our National, NextGen and Development Team skaters.

Former World Junior Champion Ben Donnelly and Seven Others Skates into Retirement

Audrey Phaneuf, Genève Bélanger and five others also hanging up the skates

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Olympian and former world junior champion Ben Donnelly has officially announced his retirement from speed skating. He joins seven other national and development team members who have officially announced their respective retirements since the end of last season.  

Blondin, Boutin, Fish and Dubois Named Athletes of the Year

This year’s winners earned a combined 28 individual medals on the World Cup and World Championships stage

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Ivanie Blondin, Kim Boutin, Graeme Fish and Steven Dubois were announced today as Speed Skating Canada’s Athletes of the Year in their respective disciplines. These four incredible skaters established two new World Records and earned a combined 28 individual medals on the World Cup and World Championships stage this season, while helping Canada win another 10 in team disciplines such as relays and team pursuits.

Call for Nominations: High Performance Committees & Marketing Working Group

Recruiting external stakeholders to provide feedback and support to help guide the decisions of our organization 

OTTAWA, ON - Speed Skating Canada is currently recruiting external stakeholders for three advisory groups: High Performance Committee - Long Track, High Performance Committee - Short Track and the newly formed Marketing Working Group.

ISU Announces Cancellation of Fall World Cups, including Montreal, Laval and Calgary

ISU Announces Cancellation of Fall World Cups, including Montreal, Laval and Calgary

LAUSANNE, SWITZERLAND - During its online meeting of August 28, 2020, the ISU Council concluded that the first four ISU World Cup Speed Skating competitions, as well a the first two ISU World Cup Short Track events, cannot be organized as planned.

Alyson Charles and Jordan Belchos Named Recipients of Peter Williamson Memorial Bursary

Each student-athlete will receive a $1,500 bursary to support their educational pursuits

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Speed Skating Canada is proud to announce that national team short track skater Alyson Charles and long track skater Jordan Belchos were selected as this year’s recipients of the Peter Williamson Memorial Bursary, an annual award given to promising skaters who best combine athletic and scholastic achievements.

Iqaluit Speed Skating Club Wins $10,000 Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award

Intact Insurance has contributed a total of $380,000 to support grassroots speed skating initiatives across Canada since 2010

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – The Iqaluit Speed Skating Club are the proud winners of this year’s Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award. They will receive a $10,000 grand prize to support their grassroots development project, along with a visit from two national team athletes during the 2020-2021 season.

Jean Wilson and David Gilday Inducted into Speed Skating Canada’s Hall of Fame

Wilson represented Canada at 1932 Olympics; Gilday involved as a builder throughout Alberta and the Territories for over 30 years

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Jean Wilson and David Gilday were announced today as this year’s inductees into the Speed Skating Canada Hall of Fame. The Toronto raised Wilson, who competed during the 1920s and 1930s and represented Canada at the 1932 Olympics in Lake Placid, was posthumously inducted as an athlete. Meanwhile, Yellowknife’s Gilday, a long-time coach and volunteer in Alberta and the Northwest Territories, enters as a builder.


Speed Skating Canada Announces Coach, Official and Volunteer of the Year

Gregor Jelonek, E.W. (Wim) Kok and Jean-Philippe Lemay bring home top honours

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Speed Skating Canada announced today the annual award winners in the coaching, officiating and volunteering categories. Canadian national long track team coach Gregor Jelonek won his fourth career Coach of the Year award, while E.W. (Wim) Kok and Jean-Philippe Lemay take home the Official of the Year and Volunteer of the Year awards, respectively.

Shields Family, City of Sherbrooke Honoured for Outstanding Contributions to Speed Skating

Selected as winners of Gagné Family Award and Sport Champion Award by Speed Skating Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Speed Skating Canada announced today that the Shields Family of British Columbia was awarded the Gagné Family Award, while the City of Sherbrooke was recognized with the Sport Champion Award as the Partner of the Year, as part of the 2019-2020 Speed Skating Canada Awards program.